This document provides an overview of travel authorization cancellations and discusses how to cancel a Travel Authorization.
The Cancel Approved Travel Authorization feature is available to both employees and delegates. It provides the mechanism that is necessary to cancel unused travel authorizations that have not been applied to expense reports.
You cannot delete travel authorizations that have been budget checked.
If a Travel Authorization has been approved, then it was successfully Budget Checked. In this case, if it is not needed anymore – it must be canceled. A Travel Authorization can only be cancelled when it has not been linked to an Expense Report. The Cancel Approved Travel Authorization feature automatically runs budget checking to reverse encumbrances that are associated with the travel authorizations being closed. After cancel, a Travel Authorization cannot be modified and resubmitted.
Cancel or Delete Travel Authorization?
You can Cancel a Travel Authorization if:
- If a Travel Authorization has been submitted and has been Partially or fully approved
- If a Travel Authorization has been Paid
- If a Travel Authorization has NOT been applied to an Expense Report
You can Delete a Travel Authorization if:
- If you create a Travel Authorization and decide not to process it, you can delete it before you submit it for approval.
- If you submit a Travel Authorization or an expense report and the approver returns it to you, you can delete it.